Why Does Instagram Not Show “Last Active”?
When you scroll through your direct messages on Instagram, you may notice that some users do not have the “Last Active” status under their username. As a result, you may wonder why. It can be very confusing because some users have “Last Active” status while others do not. Besides, there are a lot of different situations on Instagram – Last Active now, Last active 1 hour ago, Last active today, Last active yesterday. In most cases, it may be difficult to tell the difference between the two.
But don’t worry,
In this article, you will learn 4 reasons why some users do not have the “Last Active” status.
1. Limited to the first 25 users
2. Activity status is off
3. The person restricted you
4. The person blocked you
Why Does Instagram Not Show “last Active”?
Instagram does not show “Last Active” status or because it exceeds the limit of 25 users, the user has restricted their activity status, the user has blocked them, or the user has restricted them. First, if you scroll more than 25 users in your direct message list, the “Last Active” status of the 26th user will not be displayed. Next, if The person closes their active status, it will be hidden from everyone. Third, if The person blocked you on Instagram, you can no longer see their status. This will hide their profile from you and make it unreadable on Instagram. Lastly, limiting The person will hide their status from being seen. Let us discuss these reasons in more detail.
1. limited to the first 25 users
The first reason why Instagram does not show “last Active” is that the status is limited to the first 25 users in your list of direct messages. The “Last Active” status will only be shown to the first 25 users in your direct messages. Once you have exceeded 25 users in your list of direct messages, you will not be able to see the status of everyone else’s active (those who come in the count after the 25th user ). When you scroll through your list of direct messages, you will see that only the users you just sent messages with have the “Last Active” status. On the other hand, the “Last Active” status does not show users that you have not sent messages in a long time. “Last Active” status will only be shown to the first 25 users in your list of direct messages. I did some experimenting and found this theory to be true.
Here’s how the test went:
1. I used 4 different accounts and wrote down each of their specific messages.
2. After the 25th user, the “Last Active” status is no longer displayed.
This test confirmed the belief that Instagram has a limit on where the “Last Active” status will be displayed, and that limit is for 25 users.
2. Active status is off
Next, if the user shuts down his or her active status, you will never be able to see thier “Last Active” on Instagram. Instagram has a feature where you can turn off your active status. You can do that by navigating to
your profile> menu> settings> privacy> active status> on / off
If you close your active status, it will be hidden from others. However, you will not be able to see the status of other users’ activity. Therefore, if The person closes their active status, the “Last Active” status will not appear under the username.
3. The person has Blocked you-
If The person blocks you on Instagram, their status will not be visible to you. You will not be able to see the user active status that has blocked you. If The person blocks you on Instagram, the “User not found” error will be displayed when you visit their profile. If you visit their profile, there would be a “Missing User” error. However, you should not jump to conclusions that – The person has blocked you because it may not be the case. To find out if The person blocked you on Instagram, search for their username on Instagram. If you can’t find their profile by searching for their username directly, then it is confirmed that they have blocked you. You can verify this by searching for their username using another account. If you find them using another account by searching for their username, then they have blocked your primary account. In short, if you are still able to visit The person’s profile, you are not blocked.
4. The person have restricted you-
Lastly, if The person restricts you, you won’t be able to see their “Last Active” on Instagram. In other words, you can’t see if The person is online. If The person restricts you to Instagram, their status will be hidden from you. Without a restriction, you will not be able to see that they have read your messages. Additionally, if you will comment on a person’s post that has restricted you, your comment will not be visible to others without approval. They can choose to approve, delete, or ignore your comment. It’s hard to say whether The person has restricted you on Instagram or not because it’s so different compared to blocking. The only official way to find out if The person has restricted you from Instagram is by commenting on some of their posts. After that, use a second account to see if comments exist. If the comment is not available, it means that the person has restricted you. On the other hand, if a comment is shown, that person has not restricted you.
The “Last Active” status is important because you may want to find out if the user is deliberately avoiding your direct messages. Additionally, you can find out if The person is currently using Instagram or not. In this article, you’ve learned 4 reasons why the “Last Active” status doesn’t appear on Instagram. Before jumping to conclusions, make sure you go through some of these reasons thoroughly. Then, find the reasoning behind the missing “Last Active” status. Then you can easily find out why the “Last Active” status is missing.