Meaning of “other viewers” on Facebook Story – EXPLAINED
You found “1 other person watching the story” on FB? As shared in the community, someone who is not a friend saw it.” Back on March 28, 2017, Facebook introduced news stories where users could post a photo or video (lasting 24 hours). ) to be seen by their friends. This is similar to the story of Snapchat (the original founder of the story). Over the years, other social media platforms such as YouTube, LinkedIn, Twitter, and more, have entered the bandwagon. They can share the moment of their lives with their friends and family freely. Users can also check who watched their stories by looking at their list of viewers. If someone watched this story), you may be wondering what it means. At the end of the day, you want to be able to know who viewed your stories.
In this article, you’ll learn what “Some viewers” mean by Facebook story, how you can see them, and more.
1.Meaning of “other viewers” on Facebook Story-
“Other viewers” are the people who watched your story who are not your friends on Facebook. For example, if it says “5 other people watched this story”, it means that 5 other people who are not your friend watched your story. “Other viewers” will only show if you change your story’s privacy settings on Facebook. By default, your privacy settings will be set to “Friends” only. “Friends” simply means that only your friends on Facebook can view your story. Should you switch it to “Public”, anyone on Facebook or Messenger will be able to see your story. That being said, if someone who is not your friend on Facebook is watching your story, they will be listed under “Other Viewers”.
If you change your story’s privacy settings to “Public”, people who are not your friends on Facebook will be able to view your story. They will be categorized as”other viewers” & you will not be able to view their profile. Surprisingly, users under “Other Viewers” were not identified. There is also a privacy setting called “Custom” where you can choose who can view your story. If you only want to show your story to a selected group of friends, you can select this option. This setting will not allow other than selected people to view your story, so “Other viewers” will not appear.
2.How to See “Other Viewers” on Facebook
Facebook does not display “Other Viewers” profiles. Unfortunately, you can’t see “Other Viewers” on Facebook. According to Facebook, if your story’s privacy settings are set to “Public”, you can only see the number of fans who have watched your story, but not their specific names. Once your story’s privacy setting is set to “Public”, everyone will be able to view your story. People who have viewed your story as friends on Facebook will be listed under “Other Viewers”. However, their names will be unknown. In other words, users under “Other Viewers” will be hidden from you.
This restriction did not honor many users as they could not see who the “Other viewers” were. There is even a complaint (made by Wendy Williams) that requires Facebook to show “Other Viewers”. You can sign an appeal if you support the change.
3.How to remove “other viewers” from Facebook
Open Facebook app> profile> add story> add photo / video> privacy> friends. To delete “Other Viewers” from Facebook, you need to change the privacy of your story to “Friends” the next time you post a story. The reason why “Other viewers” appeared in your Facebook story view is to change your story’s privacy settings to “Public”. If you change your story privacy settings from “Friends” to “Public”, users who are not your friends on Facebook will be able to see your story. These users will be categorized under “Other viewers” (e.g., one person watched this story). If you want to prevent strangers from viewing your story , you need to change your privacy settings.
Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to remove “Other viewers” from the Facebook app:
1. Go to your Facebook profile> Add Story.
2. Insert a photo/video.
3. Tap on “Privacy” at the bottom left of your screen.
4. Change your privacy settings to “Friends”.
Note: Change this setting only once. After you change your privacy settings to “Friends”, the stories you post next time can only be seen by your friends. In other words, people who are your friends can’t see your story. Therefore, this will prevent “Other viewers” from appearing in your story view.
4.Does “Other viewers” mean I’m blocked?
If someone blocks you just after watching your story, their profile will be hidden, and you’ll see “1 viewer” in your story view. Yes, “Other viewers” in viewing your Facebook story could mean you are blocked. However, that is simply not possible. “Other viewers” are people who have watched your story that you are not friends with on Facebook. If you are blocked on Facebook, you will not be able to see the person’s posts, story, and you will be removed as a friend. You will no longer see your posts or story. However, if someone saw your story and blocked it just afterward, you would see “1 viewer” in your story view instead.
You will not be able to see the person’s name. When someone opens it to you, puts you on Facebook, and you accept it, their name will also appear in the look of your story. This theory has been tested using two accounts and has been proven true.
Knowing who is watching your story is important for privacy and security reasons. Unfortunately, if you change your privacy settings to “Public”, you will never be able to see people watching your non-Facebook story. Facebook has not yet revealed who the “Other viewers” are, so you can only see your friends watching your story. Here are the methods based on the article:
- If you change your story’s privacy settings to “Public”, everyone on Facebook and Messenger can see your story.
- “Other viewers” are people who are not your friends on Facebook.
- You can’t see “Other viewers” as Facebook has deliberately hidden them.
- In the event that someone blocks you just after watching your story, you will see “1 viewer” in your story view as your profile will be hidden from you.
All in all, it is highly recommended that you set your privacy setting to “Friends”.
Otherwise, strangers will be able to view your story, and you will never know who they are.